Our succentric process.

Structured and planned processes bring calculable and planned success. The succentric process achieves the best possible result based on standard topic groups across all stages of the buying or selling process. Legal, Finance and Strategy form the backbone of the calculation and preparation of a transaction.

Value is not created overnight.

In times like these (2018 / 2019), when funds can utilize unprecedented liquidity and companies are being sold from fund to fund (secondary buy-outs, etc.), profitable, growing founder or holder owned firms are in search of rare commodities. The strategy of financial investors and strategists alike is to communicate as directly and as quickly as possible with the owners in order to build bonds, to find exclusivity and to prevent market pricing through bilateral processes. In such buyer-driven processes, sophisticated preparation, the recovering of transaction risks and the elimination of purchase price-reducing legacies become impossible. As a result, the seller loses a significant portion of the potential enterprise value.

But there are other important reasons to prepare for an exit from a longer-term perspective: Unprofessionally prepared or "ad-hoc" sales lead to transaction interruptions, significant impairments or serious warranty risks. Professionally managed companies prepare an exit with sufficient time and use this process to sharpen their strategic position and simultaneously to build M&A know-how. A successful company sale consists of the result not only of the best possible purchase price, but also of a sustainable legal framework and last but not least of the realization of "soft" seller conceptions like job security, name guarantees or similar.

Examine your own company from the buyer's point of view.
Pillar LEGAL
Pillar FINANCE
Pillar STRATEGY

The requirements for careful preparation of corporate transactions increase with growing professionalism of the buyer group, legal regulations and comprehensive due diligence processes that are designed to avoid liability risks on the buyer side. Large scale and more professional sellers can make larger investments, but on the other hand, they also demand significantly more professional seller preparation. In particular, first time sellers in a process that has just been started are not able to catch up on prior time and content-related shortcomings.

The list of potential effects is long: from unrealized possible purchase prices, shifting of purchase price shares into a more uncertain variable purchase price ("earn-out"), stricter warranty conditions up to canceled deals.

 

Professionally managed companies prepare their companies for corporate finance events, such as sales or financing, before they could or should take place. The approach is regularly on at least three levels: legal, financial and procedural. Other issues can arise, for example from a tax or environmental point of view. Depending on the size and history, in practice, periods of six to 24 months are not uncommon for a preparatory process.

 

Working with law firms specializing in corporate law and transactions, the "Legal" pillar analyzes the foundations of the company from inception, to share transitions, board decisions, key contracts with clients and employees, and real estate acquisitions.

 

Some typical questions:

  • Are there preconditions of the seller that need to be met in order to be able to effectively enter into a transaction?   

  • Is there a need for action by means of options or other forms of participation?

  • Can contracts with third parties (rental, customer, joint venture contracts) be restricted?

  • What regulatory needs do subsidiaries bring with them?

 

 

 

The "Finance" pillar focuses on the key value levers of business models and financial metrics, as well as their impact on possible purchase prices.

 

Some typical questions:

  • Are all business units adequately aligned with the main value lever "growth"?

  • Can risks from customer structures or product cycles be minimized?

  • Is it possible to achieve a reduction in tied up operational capital ("net working capital")?

  • Are non-operational essential asset components available?

The Strategy pillar is, if nothing else, an elementary component of the strategy. It deals with possible purchasers or "logical buyers" at an early stage and in many cases influences the further strategic orientation of business activities. Especially in the extremely dynamic developing field of technology/software, a comprehensive examination of the range of buyers reveals vertical or horizontal potentials in the business models of possible acquirers, which can hold significant values.

 

Some typical questions:

  • Which buyer focus does the business model centered on, i.e. on constant, rising cash flows for financial investors or, for example, innovation drivers for acquisition by a strategic investor?

  • What does future brand development look like?

  • Are industrial property rights ("IP") in the form of patents, trademarks and procedures sufficiently protected?

 

In summary, all of the pillars in the process aim to analyze the company from a buyer's point of view,

 

  • at the same time eliminating potential impediments to transactions ("red flags") at an early stage,

  • naming and actively developing key value drivers,

  • and making the company transparent to prospective buyers in the sense of a speedy transaction process.

 

A common view is that a company has no value if it is not salable. It takes focus and time to fix problems and add value. Targeted planning of an exit in the succentric process can significantly increase the value of a life's work. 

© 2019 by northwise GmbH. 

northwise GmbH

Office München: Zur Au 8, 85256 Vierkirchen

Office Kiel: Marga-Faulstich-Str. 2, 24145 Kiel

info@northwise.de, +49 89 2154 6446-0

Impressum. Kontakt. 

northwise GmbH © 2019.

Der succentric-Prozess.

Strukturierte und geplante Prozesse bringen einen kalkulierbaren und geplanten Erfolg. Mit dem succentric-Prozess wird auf ein maximales Ergebnis auf Basis von Standard-Themengruppen über alle Phasen des Kauf- oder Verkaufsprozesses durchgeführt. Legal, Finance und Strategy bilden dabei das Rückgrat der Bemessung und Vorbereitung einer Transaktion.

Wert generiert sich nicht von heute auf morgen.

In Zeiten wie heute (2018 / 2019), in dem Fonds nie dagewesene liquide Mitteln einsetzen können und die Unternehmen von Fonds zu Fonds verkauft werden (Secondary Buy-outs usw.) sind profitable, wachsende Firmen aus Gründer- oder Inhaberhand wie seltene Güter gesucht. Die Strategie von Finanzinvestoren und Strategen gleichermaßen ist es, so direkt und schnell wie möglich mit den Inhabern zu kommunizieren, um Bindung aufzubauen, Exklusivität zu finden und über bilaterale Prozesse Marktpreisfindungen zu verhindern. In solchen käufergetriebenen Prozessen wird eine durchdachte Vorbereitung, die Heilung von Transaktionsrisiken und Behebung von kaufpreismindernden Altlasten unmöglich. In der Folge verliert der Verkäufer einen erheblichen Teil des möglichen Unternehmenswertes.

Aber es gibt auch weitere wichtige Gründe dafür, einen Exit von längerer Hand vorzubereiten: Unprofessionelle vorbereitete oder „ad-hoc“-Verkäufe führen zu Transaktionsabbrüchen, erheblichen Wertminderungen oder schwerwiegenden Gewährleistungsrisiken. Professionell geführte Unternehmen bereiten einen Exit mit ausreichender Zeit vor und nutzen diesen Prozess, um sich strategisch zu schärfen und parallel M&A-Knowhow aufzubauen. Ein erfolgreicher Unternehmensverkauf besteht aus im Ergebnis nicht nur aus dem bestmöglichem Kaufpreis, sondern gleichwohl aus einem tragbaren rechtlichen Rahmen und nicht zuletzt auch der Realisierung von "soften" Verkäufervorstellungen wir Arbeitsplatzsicherheiten, Namensgarantien o.ä..

Das eigene Unternehmen aus Käufersicht durchleuchten.
Pillar LEGAL
Pillar FINANCE
Pillar STRATEGY

Die Anforderungen an eine sorgfältige Vorbereitung von Unternehmenstransaktionen steigen mit zunehmender Professionalisierung des Käuferkreises, gesetzlichen Regulierungen und umfassenden Due Diligence Prozessen, die auf Käuferseite Haftungsrisiken vermeiden sollen. Größere und professioneller Verkäufer können größere Investitionen leisten, fordern auf der anderen Seite auch erheblich professionellere Verkäufervorbereitung. Gerade erstmalige Verkäufer können in einem einmal begonnenen Prozess weder zeitlich noch inhaltlich Versäumnisse der Vergangenheit einholen.

Dabei ist die Liste der potentiellen Auswirkungen lang: von nicht realisierten möglichen Kaufpreisen, Verlagerung von Kaufpreisanteilen in einen unsichereren variablen Kaufpreis („Earn-out“), strengeren Gewährleistungsauflagen bis hin zu abgebrochenen Deals.

 

Professionell geführte Unternehmen bereiten ihr Unternehmen auf Corporate Finance Events wie Verkäufe oder Finanzierungen vor, bevor sie eintreten sollen oder müssen. Die Betrachtung erfolgt dabei regelmäßig mindestens auf drei Ebenen: rechtlich, finanziell und prozessual. Weitere Punkte können bedarfsgerecht entstehen, beispielsweise aus steuerlicher oder umweltrechtlicher Hinsicht. Je nach Größe und Historie sind in der Praxis Zeiträume von sechs bis 24 Monaten für einen Vorbereitungsprozess nicht unüblich.

 

In Zusammenarbeit mit auf Unternehmensrecht und -transaktionen spezialisierten Kanzleien werden im Pillar „Legal“ die Grundlagen des Unternehmens von der Gründung über Anteilsübergänge, Beschlussfassungen der Gremien, Schlüsselverträge mit Kunden und Mitarbeitern und Immobilienerwerbe analysiert.

 

Einige typische Fragestellungen:

  • Sind Voraussetzungen in Person oder Sphäre des Verkäufers zu schaffen, um wirksam in eine Transaktion eintreten zu können?   

  • Gibt es Handlungsbedarf durch Optionen oder andere Beteiligungsformen?

  • Können Verträge mit Dritten (Miet-, Kunden-, Joint Venture-Verträge) einschränken?

  • Welchen Regelungsbedarf bringen Tochterunternehmen mit sich?

 

 

Das Pillar „Finance“ konzentriert sich auf die Schlüssel-Wertehebel des Geschäftsmodelle und der finanziellen Kennzahlen sowie deren Auswirkungen auf mögliche Kaufpreise.

 

Einige typische Fragestellungen:

  • Sind alle Unternehmensbereiche angemessen auf den Hauptwertehebel „Wachstum“ ausgerichtet?

  • Lassen sich Risiken aus Kundenstrukturen oder Produktzyklen minimieren?

  • Lässt sich eine Verringerung des gebundenen operativ notwendige Kapitals („Net working capital“) erreichen?

  • Sind nicht betriebsnotwendige Vermögensbestandteile vorhanden?

 

Elementarer Bestandteil der Strategie ist nicht zuletzt die Strategie-Säule. Sie beschäftigt sich frühzeitig mit möglichen Erwerbern oder „logischen Käufern“ und hat in vielen Fällen Einfluss auf die weitere strategische Ausrichtung der Geschäftsaktivitäten. Gerade im sich extrem dynamisch entwickelnden Feld Technologie/Software bringt eine umfassende Betrachtung des Käuferspektrums vertikale oder horizontale Potentiale in den Geschäftsmodellen möglicher Erwerber zu Tage, die erhebliche Werte bergen können.

 

Einige typische Fragestellungen:

  • Für welchen Käuferfokus richtet sich das Geschäftsmodell aus, d.h. eher auf konstante, steigende Cashflows für Finanzinvestoren oder beispielsweise auf Innovationstreiber für den Erwerb durch einen strategischen Investor?

  • Wie sieht die zukünftige Markenentwicklung aus?

  • Sind die gewerblichen Schutzrechte („IP“) in Form von Patenten, Marken und Verfahren ausreichend geschützt?

 

 

Zusammenfassend haben sämtliche Pillars im Prozess zum Ziel, das Unternehmen aus Käufersicht zu analysieren und dabei

 

  • mögliche Verhinderungsfaktoren für Transaktionen („red flags“) frühzeitig zu eliminieren,

  • die Schlüsselwertetreiber zu benennen und aktiv zu entwickeln,

  • sowie das Unternehmen im Sinne eines zügigen Transaktionsprozesses für künftige Käufer transparent nachvollziehbar zu machen.

 

Eine gängige Betrachtungsweise ist, dass ein Unternehmen keinen Wert besitzt, wenn es nicht verkaufbar wäre. Es erfordert Fokus und Zeit, Probleme zu beheben und zusätzlichen Wert zu schaffen. Die zielgerichtete Planung eines Exits im succentric-Prozess kann den Wert eines Lebenswerks erheblich steigern. 

© 2019 by northwise GmbH. 

northwise GmbH

Office München: Zur Au 8, 85256 Vierkirchen

Office Kiel: Marga-Faulstich-Str. 2, 24145 Kiel

info@northwise.de, +49 89 2154 6446-0

Impressum. Kontakt. 

northwise GmbH © 2019.